Wimbledon: Facts About the Grand Slam Tennis Tournament

Here are some facts about Wimbledon.

  • Wimbledon is the world’s oldest tennis tournament. Since 1877 it has been held annually at Wimbledon’s All England Tennis Club in London.

  • It is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments (along with the French Open, the US Open and the Australian Open).
  • It is the only Grand Slam tournament to be played on grass – the original surface for tennis.
  • The first tournament in 1877 was won by Spencer Gore. He was watched by about two hundred people.
  • The most important court is called Centre Court. It had a retractable roof fitted in 2009.
  • The Number 2 court is sometimes called the ‘Graveyard of Champions’ as so many top players have lost there in the early rounds of the tournament. Players such as Serena Williams, Venus Williams, Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi, Boris Becker and John McEnroe have all lost matches on Court Number 2 that they were expected to win.
  • A massive television screen is located to the northern end of the Wimbledon grounds. Fans can sit and watch key matches on an area of lawn officially named Aorangi Terrace. The area has been nicknamed ‘Henman Hill’ and ‘Murray Mount’ to show support for Britain’s players.
  • The traditioanl Wimbledon colours are purple and dark green. Players are expected to wear white outfits – although some minor coloured details are allowed.
  • Members of the Royal Family often watch matches at Wimbledon. They are seated in the Royal Box.
  • Spectators traditionally snack on strawberries and cream when watching matches at Wimbledon.
  • In 2013 Andy Murray won his first Wimbledon title. He was the first British man to win the Singles event since Fred Perry in 1936.
  • Roger Federer and Pete Sampras have both won 7 Wimbledon Singles titles. In the Ladies event, Martina Navratilova won 9 titles.
  • Boris Becker won the Singles title in 1985 – he was only 17 years old.
  • The longest match ever played took place between John Isner and Nicolas Mahut in 2010. It consisted of 5 sets and 183 games.
  • The tournament starts on the last week of June and ends in early July.
  • Former winners of the men’s singles event have included: Andy Murray, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Pete Sampras, Lleyton Hewitt, Andre Agassi, Stefan Edberg, Boris Becker, Pat Cash, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Bjorn Borg, Arthur Ashe and Rod Laver.
  • Former winners of the ladies’ singles event have included: Serena Williams, Venus Williams, Maria Sharapova, Jana Novotna, Martina Hingis, Steffi Graf, Martina Navratilova, Virginia Wade, Chris Evert and Billie Jean King.